Fall Sports 2019-20 Information

Information for All Fall 2019-20 Sports
Spartan Logo

All students interested in participating in a fall sport are reminded to download the Athletic Packet available at http://salida.ss13.sharpschool.com/about_the_district/activities/sports. You will also find other information on this webpage, including the link to schedules.

**IMPORTANT**Return signature pages with a current sports physical (if that was not completed at physical night in the spring) at registration. Contact the athletic department at 719-530-5406 if you have questions. Athletes MUST have all paperwork to the athletic department before the first practice.

**HIGH SCHOOL ONLY**
All freshmen and those not registered last year in the CHSAA Digital Platform- PLANET HIGHSCHOOL (formerly called ARBITER ATHLETE) must set up an account. To do this: create an account on PlanetHS from your phone, text S41120 to 69274. Click on the link in the reply text to create your account- good for entire high school career.

Fall Sports-start of the season
Contact coaches directly for more information.

SHS FOOTBALL (High School Field) – Coach Matt Luttrell; 970-275-4718, mluttrell@salidaschool.org
August 12th/1st day. Athletic Doors will open at 3:30 pm and practice to 7:00 pm
Regular practice time starting August 19th is 4:25-6:30-45 pm/After school

SHS VOLLEYBALL (High School Gym) – Coach Haley Huffman; 719-221-5057, hhuffman@salidaschools.org
August 12th through 15th 8:00 am to 1:00 pm, August 16th 4:15 – 6:15 pm
Regular practice time starting August 19th is 4:15 – 6:15 pm

SHS BOYS SOCCER (Ben Oswald Field) – Coach Ben Oswald; 719-221-0540, oswaldb037@gmail.com
August 12-16 2 a-days. 9-11 am and 5-7 pm (no freshman at the morning practice on August 16th)
August 17   Salida host preseason scrimmages
August 19 and on-  Practice 4:30-6:30 M-F

SHS CROSS COUNTRY (High School) – Coach Kenny Wilcox; 719-221-0238, kenny.wilcox4@gmail.com
August 12-15, 7:15 – 9:30 am. Team camp is August 16-18, contact coach for details
August 19th practice is after school from approximately 4:15-6:30 p.m. and Friday mornings from 7:15 – 9:30 am

SHS CHEER (High School) – Coach Lisa Carpenter; 719-530-1882, Creede_girl@yahoo.com
August 19th practice starts from 4:00 – 6:00 pm

SHS BOYS GOLF (Salida Golf Course) – Coach Barry Spence 719-530-1139, barry.spence1@yahoo.com
August 12th – 15th at the Salida Golf Course 8 am to 1 pm, August 16th 4:15 – 6:15 pm
August 19th normal practice 4:15 – 6:15 pm at the Salida Golf Course

SHS MT. BIKING (Scout Hut/Riverside Park) – Coach Rob Kelley rob@tbcycling.com and Dena Gillis 719-221-1297 dgillis@absolutebikes.com        
August 19th practice starts from 4:40 – 6:40 pm, Meet at the Scout Hut by Riverside Park

***Salida School District has launched an official mobile app designed to enable parents, staff, students and the
broader community to stay informed and up-to- date on important issues, information and activities underway within
the school community. The free app, which proudly displays the District’s logo, mascot, colors and content, can be
downloaded for Apple iOS and Android.***

MIDDLE SCHOOL

SMS FOOTBALL (Middle School Field) 7th and 8th grades only– Coach Rich Young; 719-221-2132, ryoung@sycpa.net
August 19th practice starts from 4:15 – 6:15 pm

SMS VOLLEYBALL (Middle School Gym) – Coach Janine Frazee; 719-207-1049, jfrazee@salidaschools.org
First practice August 19th 6th, 7th, and 8th graders will practice together (4:15-5:45). 
MS VB Parent/player Mtg. Wednesday, August 21 at 5:30 in the MS gym.
MS VB practices will be as follows starting Tuesday, August 20th:
Varsity - 4:15-6
JV & C - 5:30-7:15

SMS CROSS COUNTRY (Middle School) – Coach Kris Clark; 989-598-5289, krisatbl@hotmail.com
Middle school XC (6-8th grades) starts the 1st day of school 8/19 in the Middle school commons.  Parent meeting that Thursday 8/22 at 5:30. Practice is every day after school and Fridays at 8 am

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.